hosts reviews of many famous and critically acclaimed books. The Bookers and the Nobel Prize winners hold place of prominence in the main book sections of the website. But unfortunately, the website does not do justice to some of the other prominent literary award winners. The Pulitzer Prize winners being one of them. It is my wish and endeavor to eventually include reviews of all prominent award winning literature on the website with your generous support- my dear Book Lovers Club members.

In the meanwhile let us brush up our understanding of some of the most prominent literary awards of the world in the next few issues of The Book Lovers Club News (other than the Booker and the Nobel Prizes, information on which is already available on the website). I have picked The Pulitzer Prizes for this issue.

The Pulitzers

Pulitzer Prize
The Pulitzer Prize has been awarded since 1917 for excellence in journalism, literary composition and musical achievements made in the US. It was established by the noted American journalist Joseph Pulitzer and is administered jointly by the Columbia University and the Pulitzer Prize Board. It is usually awarded each year in the month of April. It comprises of a cash prize of $10,000 in 20 categories and a Gold Medal in the Public Service category.

Among these 21 categories, the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction, as it is known today, originated as the Pulitzer Prize for the Novel in 1918. It is awarded to ‘distinguished fiction by an American author, preferably dealing with American life.’ Many of the Pulitzer awardees have not been on best seller lists though many have gone on to win the Nobel Prize for Literature which is considered to be the highest literary honor. Ernest Hemmingway (for The Old Man and the Sea) is one such notable writer. Some famous winners of the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction are Margaret Mitchell (for Gone with the Wind), Saul Bellow, Ernest Hemingway, Eudora Welty, Harper Lee, William Faulkner and Toni Morrison. Notably, Robert Frost won the prize for poetry four times!

Book Review Circle gossip

The Pulitzer awards have often been criticized for their conservative tastes and board/jury conflicts. For example, in 1963, the Pulitzer was withheld from Edward Albee for ‘Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?’ because of its sexual explicitness and rough language. However, in 1993 the prize was awarded to Tony Kushner for ‘Angels in America: Millennium Approaches’ – a play replete with obscenities and dealing with homosexuality and AIDS.

It is interesting to note that Joseph Pulitzer had only made an initial provision for 13 awards (four awards in journalism, four in letters and drama, one for education, and four traveling scholarships) against the existing 21 awards.

Book Review Circle suggested read:

Tinkers by Paul Harding- It was awarded the Pulitzer for Fiction in 2010

Book Review Circle Quiz:

See if you know answers to the following
  1. What was the main occupation of Joseph Pulitzer, the founder of the Pulitzer prizes ?
  2. What is the cash reward for the winner?
  3. What is the British equivalent for the American Pulitzer prize for fiction?


  1. He was a journalist and newspaper publisher
  2. $ 10,000
  3. The Booker Prize for fiction

Do write in to me at with your comments, updates and suggestions. I look forward to hearing from you.

Ok. I will leave you to munch on that.

Happy reading till we meet again.